‘Skyfall’ Wins Top Prize at ASC Awards

‘Skyfall’ Wins Top Prize at ASC Awards. Roger Deakins’ lensing of Skyfall succeeds the feature competition at the 27th annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards, Sunday at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. He topped a field of nominees that incorporated Danny Cohen for Les Miserables, Janusz Kaminski forLincoln, Seamus McGarvey for Anna Kareninaand Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi. Four of the ASC nominees — Deakins, Kaminski, McGarvey and Miranda—are also nominated for the Oscar for cinematography. The fifth Oscar nomination went to Robert Richardson for Django Unchained.

'Skyfall' Wins Top Prize at ASC Awards

Five of the last 10 previous ASC Award winners in the feature competition have gone on to win the Oscar in cinematography. Also during the ceremony, Dean Semler, who won an Oscar for Dances With Wolves and whose credits also include Apocalypto, received the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. Rodney Charters, a two-time Emmy nominee for 24, was the receiver of the Career Achievement in Television Award, and Robby Müller (Paris, Texas) was honored with the International Achievement Award. The Presidents Award was given to Curtis Clark whose credits comprise TheDraughtsman’s Contract and who has served as the chairman of the ASC Technology Committee, which in 2012 received a Primetime Emmy Engineering Award for the growth of the ASC CDL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *